Nominations are closing on March 1, 2019! Nominations will be reviewed and a 
recommendation will be made to the Board of Directors for its consideration.
The winner will be decided at the September 2019 annual meeting.

​The American Institute of Research Fishery Biologists established the Kasahara Early Career Award in 2006 to honor the memory of Dr. Hiroshi Kasahara and the lasting contributions made by Dr. Hiroshi and Mrs. Toshiko Kasahara to fisheries science and the work of the Institute. The Kasahara Award is intended to recognize the Institute’s most promising young associates and members early in their research careers. A committee comprised of five individuals was appointed by the President to determine guidelines and procedures for the award.

Criteria for Evaluating Candidates:

  • be accomplished researchers in fisheries science, with competence in conservation and proper utilization of fishery resources,

  • demonstrate potential for leadership in scientific frontiers,

  • have received a PhD in the last seven years (exceptional scientists who do not have a PhD should have received their BS within the last fifteen years)

  • be a professional associate or member of in the Institute in good standing

  • be nominated by a professional associate, member or fellow of the Institute

Preference will be given to candidates who:

  • develop innovative approaches to fisheries science

  • promote connections between basic and applied research

  • integrate science and policy for sustainable management of fishery resources

  • active involvement or leadership in research and science organizations


The general membership of the Institute will be solicited for nominations through correspondence that will include the qualifications and evaluation criteria for the award. Solicitations will be administered by the Committee Chair through District Directors to promote a wide distribution of nominations.


  1. All nominees will be contacted by the committee chair and requested to submit a curriculum vitae, including a list of publications, and a one-page summary of how the award would be used to promote the nominee’s research.

  2. The committee will work by correspondence to evaluate all nominees who submit the required information.

  3. The committee will recommend an award recipient to the Executive Board.

Steve Cadrin, Award Committee Chair

University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

706 S. Rodney French Blvd.
New Bedford, MA 02744

Committee Members:
Lisa Kerr, Gulf of Maine Research Institute
Katherine Myers, University of Washington
Bruce Miller, University of Washington
Donald Gunderson, University of Washington

Connect With AIFRB

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

© 2019 AIFRB