top of page


The Founding Fellows established AIFRB in 1956 as an organization with high standards for admission and conduct. Biographies of the 26 Founding Fellows were compiled by Dr. William ("Bill") Bayliff to recognize their contributions to fishery science and AIFRB, and to pay tribute their overall service and character .  Dr. Bayliff passed in September 2020 at the age of 90 after spending 60 years at the Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC), and 61 years as a member of AIFRB.  Dr. Bayliff's original compilation is presented here; for questions, additions or updates to the Biographies, please contact President, Jeff Vieser (

bottom of page