One of AIFRB's primary goals is to advance excellence in fishery science through recognition of achievement as measured by the highest of professional standards. The Institute offers several awards to students, service, early career scientists and outstanding individual and group achievements. Members and professionals are encouraged to apply and nominate peers and colleagues for AIFRB awards. Learn more below.

The Clark Hubbs Student Research Award supports travel expenses associated with presenting results of an original research paper or research project of merit at scientific meetings or to conduct research at distant study sites.

The W.F. Thompson Award for Best Student Papers recognizes excellence in research, and encourages student professionalism in fisheries and aquatic sciences and publication of research results.

The Kasahara Award is intended to recognize the Institute’s most promising young associates and members early in their research careers.

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes an AIFRB member who has performed outstanding and sustained service to the Institute.

The Outstanding Achievement Awards are presented to an individual and to a group who have made significant contributions to the advancement of fishery science.

Connect With AIFRB

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

© 2019 AIFRB